An Encore

Cover of book An Encore
Categories: Fiction » Children

Margaret Deland (nee Margaretta Wade Campbell) (1857-1945) was an American novelist, short-story writer, and poet. She also wrote an autobiography in two volumes. She was born in Allegheny, Pennsylvan


ia. In 1880 she married Lorin F. Deland. They took in and supported unmarried mothers; it was at this period she began to write. Her poetry collection The Old Garden was published in 1886. Deland received a Litt. D. from Bates College in 1920. She is known principally for the novel John Ward, Preacher (1888) and her 'Old Chester' books, based on her early memories of Maple Grove and Manchester, Pennsylvania. Her other works include Florida Days (1889), A Summer Day (1889), Philip and His Wife (1890), Sidney (1892), Mr. Tommy Dove (1893), The Wisdom of Fools (1897), The Awakening of Helena Richie (1906), The Way to Peace (1910), The Iron Woman (1911), The Voice (1912), Partners (1913), The Hands of Esau (1914), Around Old Chester (1915), The Rising Tide (1916), and The Vehement Flame (1922). --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

+Write review

User Reviews:

Write Review: